FW 2024-25

AP/EN 4061 3.0M (W)	Ecocriticism: Environmental Justice Literature
Course Director:	Prof. Katarina O'Briain
	620 Atkinson
	Ext. 22147
	kobriain@yorku.ca
Time:	Mondays, 11:30–2:30
Delivery Format:	SEMINAR
Description:	This course engages a range of environmental writing from the 17th to the 21st century. We will consider how early modern discourses of enclosure, extractivism, and colonialism have extended into our present moment; how minoritized and exploited writers reimagine nature, freedom, and possibility; and how discourses of ecological consciousness and political ecology have changed or endured over time. Literary and cultural texts will be read alongside recent ecocriticism and theory — including perspectives from geography, history, anthropology, and geology, as well as literary criticism — with a specific focus on Black, Indigenous, and Global South critiques of Anthropocene discourse. Ongoing themes and concerns will include scales of time and space; questions of agency, affect, and responsibility; queer ecologies; land and water rights; the uneven distribution of ecological harms; nonhuman relationality; climate change and the problem of attention; aesthetics of salvaging and repair; and catastrophic realism, among many others.
Category:	A
Historical Requirement:	N/A
Requirements:	Essay 1 (1250 words), 20%
	Essay 2 (2250 words), 30%
	Seminar Presentation, 15%
	Participation, 15%
	Final Exam, 20%
Reading List:	Shani Mootoo, Cereus Blooms at Night Kidlat Tahimik, Perfumed Nightmare (Mababangong Bangungot)
	Jamaica Kincaid, My Garden (Book)
	Indra Sinha, Animal's People
	Tommy Pico, Nature Poem
	Craig Santos Perez, Habitat Threshold
	Brief selections from Anne Finch, Phillis Wheatley,
	Bamewawagezhikaquay/Jane Johnston Schoolcraft will be
	available as PDFs — along with criticism and theory by Dipesh Chakrabarty, Amitav Ghosh, Kathryn Yusoff, Katherine McKittrick

	and Sylvia Wynter, Leanne Betasamosake Simpson, Zoe Todd and
	Heather Davis, Catriona Sandilands, Rob Nixon, Julietta Singh,
	Debjani Ganguly, Min Hyoung Song, Max Liboiron, and others.
Open To:	Yr 3, 4 Honours (EN, ENPR, CRWR students only)